CofC Logo

Glenn F. McConnell


President Glenn F. McConnell

Office Address
Randolph Hall
66 George Street
Charleston, SC 29424

Phone: 843.953.5500

Download Pdf Download Bio

Glenn F. McConnell ’69 is the 22nd president of the College of Charleston. He became president on July 1, 2014. A native of Charleston, S.C., and a distinguished alumnus of the College, McConnell served more than 30 years in the South Carolina Senate. He is regarded as one of the most respected, influential and effective leaders in state government.

He was first elected to the S.C. Senate in 1980 and went on to serve in several key leadership posts, including chairman of the Rules Committee and chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee.

In 2001, he was elected the first Republican president pro tempore of the S.C. Senate by a bipartisan vote. During his legislative career, McConnell earned a reputation as a skilled parliamentarian and mediator able to forge political compromises between opposing sides and bring people together.

As the incumbent Senate president pro tempore, he ascended to the office of lieutenant governor in March 2012 upon the vacancy of the office. Honoring his oath of office and upholding the State Constitution, McConnell took over the part-time position of lieutenant governor and head of the lieutenant governor’s Office on Aging, where he was recognized both statewide and nationally for his work as the state’s chief advocate for seniors and adults with disabilities.

McConnell also has long been a driving force behind economic development initiatives in South Carolina. On behalf of the State of South Carolina, he played a leading role in negotiations that resulted in the Boeing Company’s decision in 2010 to build a 787 Dreamliner assembly plant in North Charleston, S.C. In addition, he sought to advance technological innovation and entrepreneurship in South Carolina by supporting strategic partnerships between the private and public sectors.

As an undergraduate at the College, McConnell served as student body president and as a member of the Pi Kappa Phi fraternity. He earned a bachelor’s in political science in 1969. He went on to earn a J.D. from the University of South Carolina School of Law in 1972 and was admitted to the S.C. Bar that same year. The McConnell Residence Hall on the College of Charleston’s downtown campus is named in his honor.

At the College, President McConnell has launched numerous initiatives designed to improve accessibility, affordability and inclusivity on campus as well as streamline college operations and address future college developments and construction projects.


1972: J.D., University of South Carolina
1969: B.S. in Political Science, College of Charleston

Career Highlights

2014 - Present: President, College of Charleston
2012 - 2014: Lieutenant Governor, South Carolina
2001 - 2012: President Pro Tempore, South Carolina State Senate
2000 - 2010: Small Business Owner
1980 - 2012: South Carolina State Senator, District 41 (Charleston)
1975 - 1999: Attorney, private practice
1974: Labor Management Relations Specialist, Charleston Naval Shipyard
1972 - 1974: Staff Attorney, Neighborhood Legal Assistance Program 

Honors and Achievements

  • Honorary Degrees:
    • Doctorate of Humane Letters, College of Charleston
    • Doctorate of Humane Letters, Medical University of South Carolina
    • Doctorate of Humanities, Francis Marion University
    • Doctorate of Laws, The Citadel
    • University of Charleston, S.C.
  • Chairman, African-American History Monument Commission, S.C. General Assembly
  • Chairman, S.C. Hunley Commission
  • AARP Excellence in Advocacy Award
  • Vision Award (S.C. Aging in Place Coalition)
  • Charleston Metro Chamber of Commerce Leader in Advancing Economic Development
  • Senator John Heinz Memorial Award (National Adult Day Services Association)
  • College of Charleston Founders’ Medal
  • National Council of Jewish Women (Charleston Section) Social Justice Award
  • S.C. Maritime Hall of Fame
  • S.C. Medical Association Legislator of the Year
  • S.C. Sierra Club Environmental Legislator of the Year National
  • Business Association Senator of the Year
  • S.C. Victim Assistance Network Legislator of the Year
  • ECSC Lineman Award
  • S.C. Regional Councils Partner of the Year