Paul H. Schwager

Dean, School of Business

Office Address
5 Liberty Street
Charleston, SC 29424


Download Bio

Paul H. Schwager, Ph.D. has served as dean of the College of Charleston School of Business since July 2022. A proven leader, educator and researcher, Schwager possesses the skills and experience necessary to build upon the school’s legacy of excellence and to prepare it for the opportunities of the 21st century.

In his most recent role as dean and W. Howard Rooks Distinguished Professor in the College of Business at East Carolina University in Greenville, N.C., Schwager established the Copeland Diversity & Inclusion Fellows, the Cunanan Center for Professional Success and the Thomas D. Arthur Graduate School of Business. He also reorganized the school’s leadership structure to align with strategic priorities, led a successful AACSB peer review and reorganized the Business Advisory Council, with a focus on increasing diversity. In addition, Schwager has a proven track record as a fundraiser and donor steward. Prior to his appointment as dean in 2019, he served as the school’s interim dean, associate dean and acting associate dean.

Also at ECU, Schwager served as assistant dean and interim assistant dean for Assessment, Accreditation and Curriculum, and as professor, associate professor, assistant professor and visiting assistant professor of management information systems in the College of Business. Throughout his tenure at ECU, Schwager leveraged his research focusing on the strategic use of information technology, including the creation and enhancement of organizational capabilities as they pertain to strategic planning, resource alignment, e-commerce, internet-mediated relationships and branding.

Prior to joining ECU, Schwager was an assistant professor of information systems at Appalachian State University’s John A. Walker College of Business from 2000 to 2003. Before entering academia, he worked in the private and non-profit sectors.

Schwager holds a doctorate in management of information technology and innovation from Auburn University, an M.B.A. from Florida Atlantic University and a B.A. in business administration from Palm Beach Atlantic College. He is an expert at leveraging technology to create and enhance organizational capabilities.


2004: Ph.D., Management - Management of Information Technology and Innovation, Auburn University
1997: MBA, Florida Atlantic University
1988: B.A., Business Administration, Palm Beach Atlantic College

Career Highlights

2022–present: Dean, School of Business, College of Charleston
2018–22: Dean, College of Business and W. Howard Rooks Distinguished Professor, East Carolina University
2019-22: Professor of Management Information Systems, College of Business, East Carolina University
2009-19: Associate Professor of Management Information Systems, College of Business, East Carolina University
2011–19: Associate Dean and Acting Associate Dean, School of Business, East Carolina University
2009-11: Assistant Dean and Interim Assistant Dean for Assessment, Accreditation, & Curriculum, East Carolina University
2003-09: Assistant Professor, Management Information Systems, College of Business, East Carolina University
2003: Visiting Assistant Professor, Management Information Systems, College of Business, East Carolina University
2000-03: Assistant Professor, Information Systems, John A. Walker College of Business, Appalachian State University
1992-97: Director of Special Events & Administration, National Center for Missing & Exploited Children/ Adam Walsh Children’s Fund, Lake Park, FL
1991-93: Partner, Computer/East of the Palm Beaches, Jupiter, FL
1984-91: Vice President, Cobra Seats/Autoextras, Inc., West Palm Beach, FL

Honors and Achievements

2013-22: AACSB New Deans Affinity Group

  • 2021-22 - Past Chair
  • 2020-21 - Chair
  • 2019-20 - Member

2019-20: AACBB New Deans Affinity Group - Member
2018: AACSB Volunteer Advisory Group - Chair
2013-18: AACSB Associate Deans Affinity Group

  • 2017-18 - Past Chair
  • 2016-17 - Chair
  • 2015-16 - Vice Chair
  • 2013-15 - Member

2008: Chancellor’s Leadership Fellow2008: Commerce Club Teaching Excellence Award
2008: Southern Management Association - Track Chair, Information Technology & Innovation
2005-07: Southern Association for Information Systems - Board Member